Sensorimotor Psychotherapy: Interventions for Trauma

Presented by Jack Hirose & Associates Inc. – led by leading field experts, Dr. Pat Ogden & Dr. Rochelle Sharpe Lohrasbe

Trauma includes events perpetrated by individuals, groups and society as a whole (e.g., systemic oppression, racism, colonization, and so forth), all of which leave a profound imprint on the body.  Memories of these traumatic experiences may remain unsymbolized, remaining stored in the lower brain and the body, not readily accessible for direct reflection and verbal representation. This course will teach Sensorimotor Psychotherapy intervention to address how the body carries the legacy of individual and societal trauma, both past and current,  and illustrate how clients can draw on the wisdom of their own bodies to change this legacy. We will explore the challenges, risks and rewards of working somatically with complex trauma and dissociative clients, elucidate how the body reflects and sustains both daily life parts of the self and those stuck in trauma time, and clarify how the body can be an asset in helping these parts communicate and cooperate.  Participants will learn how to actively incorporate the body to address the physical actions and reactions that keep clients stuck in the past and support a more unified approach to the treatment of the effects of trauma.

Learning Objectives:

  • Describe the significance of targeting movement and posture of the body in trauma treatment
  • Discuss how the body might adapt to the trauma of systemic oppression or racism
  • Explain somatic resources for stabilization and arousal regulation
  • Justify the role of movement to facilitate communication between internal parts of the self
  • Analyze the risks and rewards of using posture as an intervention for clients with complex trauma
  • Utilize homework sheets to map parts of the self

Date and Time: December 8, 2022 from 8:30am – 4:00pm PT, 10:30am – 6:00pm CT, 11:30am – 7:00pm ET after purchase.

Breaks
10:00am – 10:15am PT, 12:00pm – 12:15pm CT, 1:00pm – 1:15pm ET
12:00pm – 1:00pm PT, 2:00pm – 3:00pm CT, 3:00pm- 4:00pm ET
2:30pm – 2:45pm PT, 4:30pm – 4:45pm CT, 5:30pm – 5:45pm ET

CREDITS: 6 CE Credit Hours
FEE: $249